On 3’s birthday

I am especially reflective today.Today is 3’s third birthday.  I can’t help but celebrate and feel the day is a bit bittersweet at the same time.  I celebrate for 2 and I, and think about how “T”, 3’s birthmom, is feeling today.

We celebrate becoming parents.  We celebrate the wonderful boy that he is.  A lover of music and learning.  A child that truly cares for others and makes friends easily. One who is sometimes loud and occasionally disobedient.  He is sensitive and tenderhearted while also stubborn (aren’t all three year olds??).  One who thrives on one on one time with his parents and plays well in small groups, yet is shy in large gatherings.  We even celebrate that T can be with him at times and can see these traits in him. 

3 is too young to fully understand his adoption, although we have literally told him since the day he was born that he is adopted.  We will never hide the truth of his beginnings from him.  I’m so thankful that we can know and have access to his birthparents for his benefit and for theirs.  But, he is at that age where he will start to ask questions about where babies come from and we’ll discuss in more detail about how he didn’t come from Mommy’s tummy, but was in T’s tummy.  I’m reading and praying and planning as much as possible to prepare for these discussions before they arrive, but there are just some things you can’t anticipate.  I’m thankful for the friendship of several families whom have also adopted as well as other blogs and writers who have gone before us.  I hope to learn from their experiences as we walk our path.

But, most of all, I want to always remember that God’s ways are perfect.  He gives grace to us when we need it.  And, Lord knows, that’s quite often.  He even corrects me and I’m so thankful He does.  I know that He will be with us every step of the way, even when we make mistakes.  God has an amazing plan for 3’s life.  I’m blessed to be a part of it.

Leave a Reply

